html { FILTER: yellow }   Home  |  Rock  |  Alternative  |  Indie  |  Punk  |  Metal  |  Christian
  • The Honeydogs - Sunshine Committee EP (2009) - [Indie]



    Link: | Website |

      Artist:      The Honeydogs
      Album:       Sunshine Committee
      Label:       Princess Records
      Playtime:    24:09 min
      Genre:       Indie
      Rip date:    2009-03-03
      Street date: 2009-03-13
      Size:        34.32 MB
      Type:        Normal
      Quality:     188 kbps / 4410kHz / Joint Stereo

    - Release Notes ------------------------------------------------------------- -

       The last thing The Honeydogs' lead singer songwriter Adam Levy wants his band
       to be is a Sunshine Committee. You know, the cloying co-workers who attempt
       to bring a little Trojan Horse happiness to the dysfunctional corporation on
       the eve of mass layoffs with flowers, pizza, ribbons, lace, and cupcakes?
       No, the Honeydogs have chosen a tough path, singing about serious subject
       matter always avoiding the maudlin and producing some music of great
       emotional intensity, complexity and beauty.

       Starting with 2001's brilliant day darkener, Here's Luck, the band charted a
       course of, as Paste magazine said, capturing "the Zeitgeist of this anxious
       era." The follow-up, 10,000 Years, was hailed as the bands' masterpiece--a
       concept album based on Levy's experiences in social work telling the story of
       a poor urban test tube kids’s rise and fall during a genocidal apocalypse in
       the not-so-distant future.  In 2006 the band released Amygdala, a record
       thematically exploring fear in its varied forms--abandonment, losing
       children, war & death, aging, social decay.

       In 2009 the band emerges with an offering considerably more hopeful in these
       desperate times. The tracks on Sunshine Committee reflect a complex, often
       nuanced intersection of art and humanity while marking a return to a more
       live, rocking sound.

       Once featured guests, Matt Darling on trombone and Steven Kung on trumpet
       have now become integral core members of the band, adding a vintage
       Stax/Volt-Muscle Shoals unctuousness to the record.  Bass player Trent
       Norton’s writhingly hooky parts almost singularly define the new improved
       sound. Levy and Brian Halverson have further perfected their guitar
       matrimony, playing off each other and swapping leads and obbligatos.  Peter
       Sands, given extra real estate space, layers clavinets, harpsichords, pianos,
       Hammond organs, Chamberlains, and various odd keyboards from his museum of
       myriad electronic instruments. Drummer Peter Anderson directs traffic like an
       empathic inner city principal, alternately slamming and playing with great
       economy, sensitivity and restraint.

       As always, the band refers to the traditional soul and rock touchstones while
       creating something interesting, unpredictable, insightful, and moving: shades
       of the Stones’ Exile on Main Street, Fresh-era Sly Stone, twilight Hendrix
       and Revolver-esque Beatles, all with Levy’s surreal, evocative and enigmatic
       lyrics winding sinuously through the savory mix.

       Sunshine Committee is the band’s first truly self-produced effort, with the
       entire band involved in the conception, engineering and editing of the
       record. Granted permission to record this and his children’s record (Bunny
       Clogs) at the Institute of Production and Recording where Levy is a teacher,
       the EP's production provided top students with a “laboratory” environment in
       which to experiment with various mics and recording techniques, comment on
       arrangement and performance, and assist in the editing process.

       Capping off the roster of contributing talent, friend and mainstay John
       Fields, freshly finished with recording the Jonas Brothers, offered up his
       mixing expertise to the band.

    - Track List ---------------------------------------------------------------- -

      01. Sunshine Committee                                                ( 4:02)
      02. Fiber Optic Paramour                                              ( 3:26)
      03. Good Fight                                                        ( 4:59)
      04. Balaclava                                                         ( 4:31)
      05. Stash                                                             ( 3:00)
      06. Levers, Pulleys & Pumps                                           ( 4:11)

    - --------------------------------------------------------------------------- -